Spinach with white poppy seeds ( Palong saak ar posto )

I mentioned in one of my previous post Onion with white poppy seeds that I’ll share some more recipes with white poppy seeds. Sorry for being so late. Actually the thing is, I always post recipes with picture. I did not have any picture of them before, so I cooked them to take photos :P. That’s what took so long! Well..in this post I’m going to share a recipe containing spinach and white poppy seeds.

Poppy seed, green chili, turmeric paste

Poppy seed, green chili, turmeric paste

Spinach with white poppy seeds

Spinach with white poppy seeds

 

  • Ingredients :
  1. Spinach – 500 g ( washed and stems removed )
  2. White poppy seeds – 100 g
  3. Green chilies – 3
  4. Turmeric paste/powder – 1 tsp
  5. Whole dried red chili – 2
  6. Salt – as needed
  7. Cooking oil – 2 tbsp
  • Method :
  1. Heat oil in a wok, when oil is hot, throw in the dried red chilies and fry for 1-2 minutes or until they change colour slightly and you can smell the hot smell of fried red chili. Please don’t burn them
  2. Add the washed spinach in there and cook for several minutes, say 4-5 minutes in medium heat
  3. In the mean time make a coarse paste of white poppy seeds with little water, turmeric and green chilies. In the picture you can see bits and pieces of yellow turmeric, because I used raw turmeric. As always I say, you can use turmeric powder
  4. Add the paste along with salt  in the wok and mix well
  5. Cook for 10-12 minutes or until you can no longer smell turmeric and spinach is done. You should cook until the water dries up, this dish should not be watery

Enjoy with hot boiled rice! Happy Cooking 🙂

